Two more countries can now issue Schengen visas – Condé Nast Traveller India

0 minutes, 58 seconds Read

The next time you are flying into the Schengen Area, add two countries to your bucket list. Romania and Bulgaria have officially partially joined the Schengen Area, which means you can now travel to the countries on your Schengen visa.

The Schengen Area now consists of 29 countries—the area included 27 countries before the inclusion of Romania and Bulgaria—in continental Europe. Tourists can use a Schengen visa for travel to these countries. Bulgaria and Romania will begin issuing Schengen C visas to foreign travellers on 1 April. These visas permit entry and stay in the area for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. Visas issued by the two countries before 1 April do not entitle travellers to access the rest of the Schengen area.

For citizens of either country, there will be no passport checks when travelling between the two countries or when travelling between either country and any other country in the Schengen area. However, land border ID-checks will remain in place for now due to a veto by Austria that limits this new status to land and sea routes. Travellers from non-Schengen countries will still require passport checks when travelling to different Schengen countries.

This post was originally published on 3rd party site mentioned in the title this site

Similar Posts